Dear 4th District Republican Central Committees,

This is the quarterly update from your State Central Committee (SCC) Members for the 4th Congressional District. The Republican Party of Iowa SCC met on Saturday, July 8, 2023, at the Republican Party of Iowa HQ in Des Moines.

4th District SCC opening – Due to the seat vacated by Kevin Brown, the 4th District DEC will hold a special election August 5th in Fort Dodge, IA. You should have received an email from Chair Jeff Kaufmann on June 19th with the details. The meeting will be held at Iowa Central Community College, (Bioscience and Health Building-Auditorium), 1 Triton Circle, Fort Dodge, IA 50501. Only chairs, co-chairs and other duly elected members of the 4th DEC can vote. Any Republican in the 4th District is welcome to run for the seat. A Proxy form is needed if you cannot attend.

Important dates:

7/28/2023 – RPI Lincoln Dinner is **SOLD OUT.** Iowa Events Center, 730 3rd St, Des Moines, IA. Confirmed speakers include: President Donald J. Trump, Governor Ron DeSantis, Vice President Mike Pence, Ambassador Nikki Haley, Senator Tim Scott, Vivek Ramaswamy, Governor Asa Hutchinson, Larry Elder, Perry Johnson, Governor Doug Burgum, Mayor Francis Suarez, Ryan Binkley, and Representative Will Hurd. Doors will open at 4PM and will be locked at 6:30PM. Cash bar during the event will only accept credit cards.

8/5/2023 – 4th District DEC special election for open seat on SCC in Fort Dodge, IA

9/8/2023 – Pottawattamie County Lincoln Reagan Dinner, Treynor

9/9/2023 – 4th District Tailgate at Story County Fairgrounds

9/?/2023 - District Chair Conferences - Zach Hoffman - Date TBD

?/?/2023 – Net SCC meeting TBD

10/13-10/14-2023 – Iowa Federation of Republican Women – Biennial conference in Des Moines

1/15/2024 – Caucus

For the most up to date calendar of GOP events click: <u>Iowa GOP Events (google.com)</u> (To make corrections, contact <u>kush@iowagop.org</u>)

Got a question for RPI? Your 4th District State Central Committee members are happy to assist. Pedro Calderon is handling the 4th district on a daily basis for the time being. He can be reached at pedro@iowagop.org.

Chair – Jeff Kaufmann Co-Chair – Linda Upmeyer Treasurer – David Barker Secretary – Michelle Crawford

Meeting notes:

Iowa Federation of Republican Women: First Vice-President Michelle Crawford shared that two new clubs have been chartered in Jones and Carroll counties which brings a total of 14 clubs statewide. The next event will be the Biennial Conference on October 13-14 in Des Moines.

Iowa Federation of College Republicans: President Dylan Engelbrecht outlined the goals they have set for the year in the areas of recruitment, fundraising, and communications. There are currently 10 chapters in Iowa, and they are looking to launch a couple more in the coming academic year.

Iowa Federation of Young Republicans: President Mary Weston shared that a new executive board has been elected. She presented the goals this new board is focused on including increasing membership and chapters, making YR more than a political involvement group with more social engagement, and priming YR members into campaigners, GOP leaders, grassroots organizers, and champions of the Republican Party. Pedro Calderon is Secretary pedro@iowagop.org.

Organization Committee: The caucus date has been set for 1/15/2024, 7:00 P.M. Counties should immediately look for venues for holding precinct caucuses. This is a presidential election year, so government facilities, if available, are to be made available free of charge. Dates for county, district and state conventions are being discussed. Delegate numbers for the Counties for the State Convention is being looked at and discussed. Rules for the State Convention are being researched and discussed. A full SCC zoom meeting is being planned for some time in the month of August to report back on and vote on the Org committee's decisions on the above mentioned subjects.

Communications Committee: Discussion continues regarding sharing of county central committee executive contact information without a resolution. A rule was passed by the SCC 2-3 years ago blocking the sharing of information due to unwanted and unsolicited contact from nefarious sources. The county Chair and Treasurer information is available on the Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board web site via DR1 filings required of each county, but the Co-Chair and Secretary information are not. To obtain the Chair and Treasurer information, you have to view each county's DR1 filing individually and record it. Until this rule is changed, we ask that each county ensure the District Executive Committee (DEC) has the correct contact information for your chair, cochair, secretary and treasurer. If the committee person is concerned about unwanted emails, obtaining an additional Gmail or other free address is very easy and highly recommended. The 4th District Executive Committee chair is Larry Sailer sailerlj@gmail.com and the 4th District Executive Committee co-chair is Charlie Johnson charliejohnson1954@cox.net.

Contacts:

Gary Nystrom – Boone County – 515-212-0085 – <u>gnystrom54@hotmail.com</u> Starlyn Perdue – Pottawattamie County – 402-650-0242 – <u>Starlyn.Perdue@gmail.com</u> $Senator\ Craig\ Williams-Carroll\ County\ -\ 712-790-8927-\underline{craig.s.williams63@gmail.com}\ Pedro\ Calderon-Interim\ Regional\ Political\ Director-\underline{pedro@iowagop.org}$